Christian Schrade

Fine spirits sommelier, whisky consultant and managing associate with The Idea Distillers

Telephone: +49 6252 60 30 377

Email: c.schrade@idea-distillers.de

„If you want to be successful in the premium segment, you need a lot more that just some colorful images. Here it’s all about substance. People want to know how their craft spirit is made. And, above all, they want to know who makes it. We help our clients to tell their own very special story.“

TELLING SPIRITED STORIES

Christian Schrade is convinced that each and every whisky tells a story. In fact, that’s also the motto of the whisky events he holds under the name ‘Heart of the run’. A journalist and communications expert, he discovered his passion for unique craft distillates – and the people who make them – already in 2006. Since that time, the 34-year-old regularly travels to faraway distilleries and into extraordinary aromatic spheres – always in search of new experiences for the spirit and the palate.  Rendering into words spicy heath notes or descriptively putting a spotlight on elegant citrus fragrances – this is something that motivates him day after day when he’s planning a distillery launch for a client or writing an articles for the new distillery’s website.

His clients don’t just benefit from his wealth of experience as a journalist and press spokesman who can communicate with media representatives on their behalf, organize interviews and jot down a press release in a jiffy. He also has an impressive network of journalists, bloggers, marketing heads and service providers in the manufacturing process – and he can broker contacts for clients in a targeted way.
For the Idea Distillers he is, beyond this, also largely responsible for strategic communication planning and execution. He not only devises the concept – with a message and a storyline – but is also called on for the complete handling of industry congresses. Moreover, he can persuasively translate a whisky or gin taste profile into a new packaging design.

Education and expertise

  • Journalist, press spokesman & communication consultant with more than 10 years of professional experience
  • Editorial staff member of daily newspapers, worked in a PR agency and in the press bureau of a federal authority
  • In 2014, founded the company ‘Heart of the run’, which has been regaling guests with ‘Whisky Events for the Spirit and the Palate’ and continues to be operated as an independent consumer brand within Idea Distillers GmbH
  • Majored in Politics & Media studies and Peace and Conflict Studies at university
  • Fine spirits sommelier with certification by WSET Level 2 Award Spirits, training as a craft distiller
  • Conducted tastings, moderation & keynotes at events and trade fairs for premium spirits

Christian Schrade

Spirituosen-Sommelier, Whisky-Berater und geschäftsführender Gesellschafter bei den Idea Distillers

Telefon: +49 6252 60 30 377

E-Mail: c.schrade@idea-distillers.de

„Wer im Premium-Segment Erfolg haben will, braucht weitaus mehr als bunte Bildchen. Es geht um Substanz. Die Menschen wollen wissen, wie ihr Craft-Spirit gemacht wird. Und vor allem, wer das tut. Wir helfen unseren Kunden, ihre ganz besondere Geschichte zu erzählen.“

Profilbild von Christian Schrade - Geschäftsführer der Idea Distillers

GEISTREICHE GESCHICHTEN ERZÄHLEN

Jeder Whisky erzählt eine Geschichte, davon ist Christian Schrade überzeugt – und machte das zum Motto seiner Whisky-Events unter dem Namen „Heart of the run“. Der Journalist und Kommunikationsexperte entdeckte bereits 2006 seine Leidenschaft für besondere Destillate und die Menschen, die sie machen. Seitdem reist der heute 36-Jährige regelmäßig zu weit entfernten Brennereien oder in ungewöhnliche aromatische Sphären – immer auf der Suche nach Erlebnissen für Geist und Gaumen. Würzige Torfnoten in Worte zu fassen oder elegante Zitrusdüfte bildreich in Szene zu setzen, das motiviert ihn jeden Tag aufs Neue, wenn er für seine Kunden eine Destillerie-Eröffnung plant oder im Anschluss daran eine Reportage für die neue Webseite schreibt.

Von seiner langjährigen Arbeit als Journalist und Pressesprecher profitieren seine Kunden nicht nur, wenn er für sie mit Medienvertretern spricht, Interviewtermine arrangiert oder auf die Schnelle eine Pressemitteilung herunterschreibt. Über die Jahre baute der Wahl-Berliner auch ein großes Netzwerk von Journalisten, Bloggern, Marketingverantwortlichen und Dienstleistern in der Produktion auf, zu denen er gezielt Kontakte vermitteln kann.
Bei den Idea Distillers ist er darüber hinaus für die strategische Kommunikationsplanung und Umsetzung verantwortlich – vom Konzept mit Botschaften und Storyline über die Komplettabwicklung eines Branchenkongresses bis zur Übersetzung eines Whisky- oder Gin-Geschmacks in ein neues Verpackungsdesign.

Ausbildung und Expertise

  • Journalist, Pressesprecher & Kommunikationsberater mit mehr als 10-jähriger Berufserfahrung
  • arbeitete in der Redaktion von Tageszeitungen, in einer PR-Agentur und der Presseabteilung einer Bundesbehörde
  • gründete 2014 das Unternehmen „Heart of the run“, über das er seitdem mit „Whiskyevents für Geist und Gaumen“ begeistert und welches nun innerhalb der Idea Distillers GmbH als eigenständige Endverbrauchermarke weitergeführt wird
  • Studium der Politik- & Medienwissenschaft sowie der Friedens- und Konfliktforschung
  • Spirituosen-Sommelier mit Zertifizierung in WSET Level 2 Award Spirits, Ausbildung zum Kleinbrenner
  • Tastings & Verkostungen, Moderation & Keynotes auf Events und Fachmessen für Premium Spirits